Dark Secrets

Silence! Not a sound but the heavy breathing of mom and dad asleep. I slip quietly out of my bed to check my stack of books for an interesting title. “One Kitten Too Many” sounds right. I pull up my Tonka truck with the blue spotlight and start reading but remain alert and poised to leap into bed if anybody stirs.

Fast forward 55 years. Lights out, glow from the monitors lights the desk; the keyboard light illuminates the keys. Ears straining for any noise I pick up the comforting sound of Bejeweled Blitz. Tinkling shapes signal a few minutes for reading and writing. Twitter is running like a vertical ticker tape. I’m reading the new entries from followed bloggers. I try to participate in the stream of tweets but I’m distracted by my urge to write.

Words are pouring out. My character must have had a double-shot espresso. I hear the heavy tread on the stairs. I try to fire off a quick “g’night” on Twitter as I minimize TweetDeck. I click close on Word and ‘save changes’. The browser remains – set to Sky News. I start reading the stories.

Her silhouette in the door blocks the light from the hall. The shadow of four Poms in her arms signals its bedtime.

“IT’S TIME FOR BED!” she announces, with the authority of Nurse Ratched.

“What are you doing up here? Wasting more time on that Tupper…Twicker…whatever that stupid thing is?” she says accusingly.

“I’m ready! Be there in a minute.” I reply, avoiding answering any of her questions. I stifle a retort about Bejeweled Blitz.

It’s the same ritual every night. Almost Groundhog’s Day.

She leaves and I bring up the minimized screens, check for last minute tweets, check email for any new followers or comments on my blog posts and reluctantly close everything down.

God help me if she found out I was actually writing stories! She’d have a hissy fit! She thinks reading is a waste of time and writing is even worse. She’s afraid that I’ll embarrass her or the family, or give away some family secret.

But similar to the living books in “Fahrenheit 451” I take my life in my hands and continue to write in secret.

My hope is one day I can actually have something published and she’ll see money coming into her pocket. She might cut me a little slack then – in fact she might become just the opposite and stand over me demanding more stories, novels…more MONEY! If it shuts her up she can have it all. I don’t care about the money I just want to write!

Would you share what type of support you get from your significant other? And was the support different before you were published?

Just curious … and thanks for listening!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Madison Woods
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 22:44:26

    Oh wow. Wish I’d had seen your post when you made it, I could have instantly shared some misery with you, LOL.

    My two oldest children are supportive of my writing time, but not the youngest. He just wants me to be *normal*. And normal moms aren’t writers, especially not writers of weird stuff.

    Glad you found my post and made it over to K.D.’s blog to see my comments, and the others there. You’re definitely not alone.

    Reply

  2. Sue London
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 11:06:31

    Is your post serious? Can’t imagine. My hubs is very supportive – sometimes too much. He *made* me go to a writer’s conference this spring, introvert’s nightmare for “support,” but he was right and it was very interesting, inspiring, etc. My assumption is that if I got published he would make it his second job to be sure I was writing consistently. Sure, every now and then there is the “ARE YOU STILL UP?” moment but I’m usually just twittering, stumbling, blogging at 3am anyway so it’s not really a discouragement from writing.

    Reply

    • mikeysmuse
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 14:25:08

      I’d have to ‘fess up to SOME exaggeration! I got the “Fools’ names and fools’ faces oft times seen in public places” speech last night in response to something my daughter posted on FB. She lives by the motto “anything recorded can come back to haunt you” and “it’s worked for me for 60 years!” Can’t argue with her logic – but then why isn’t she happy…

      So I posted … to see if anybody else was in the same boat. I got the sense from reading writers’ blogs that everyone has a level of encouragement and support. Guess I’m jealous.

      But it does motivate me to successfully publish – then her tune will change.

      Thank you for stopping in and taking the time to contribute.

      Reply

  3. Dawn Herring
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 17:03:41

    Mike,
    I enjoyed your in the moment post as you were actively engaged in your surroundings. I found much of it amusing and easily relatable since I am also on the social networks and have a blog.

    My hubby is very supportive of my writing time; he often gives me suggestions about what I might focus on. He gives me good advice.

    I wanted to thank you for taking the time to read my post From Within; your comment was appreciated. 🙂

    Be refreshed,
    Dawn Herring
    JournalWriter Freelance

    Reply

Leave a Reply

